Facebook Can Lead to Obsession

by Greg Finch
Contributing Writer

It’s 1:14 p.m. on a Wednesday afternoon and I have just eaten lunch. With the entire afternoon ahead of me, I have to finish reading for a class on Friday. Now I’m taking a break. Resisting the urge to use the bathroom, conveniently located in my room five feet to my right, I instead sign on to Facebook. I change my status to “Facebook instead of homework. I love college.” How long will it take before someone comments on this? It’s now 1:18. I’m supposed to be taking a 15 minute break and then continue reading.

In this photo illustration, junior Maggie Moore wastes precious time on Facebook while her schoolwork continues to pile up.I scroll down, seeing statuses such as “chillin till i play ball at four,” “Can’t find her planner,” “Oh wife swap” and “was i supposed to go to richmond today for class?? Whoops.” I don’t go to school with, nor live around, any of these people. I can’t chill and join him at four to play ball, nor can I help find her planner. And you guessed it, I don’t care about Wife Swap or that she didn’t go to class in Richmond today. Yet, I still read. It’s now 1:22.

I can’t help but think, What I am doing with my life? Am I so consumed with myself that I must let everyone know what I’m doing at every moment of my day? I just received a chat from a friend telling me to “do your homework, child.” At least this is personal and relevant to my situation. I respond, “I am … I’m researching Facebook for a paper.” I say this to make myself feel better, feel productive.

There have been 10 new status updates, none of which I care about; still, I read them. This sense of endless time in college is the evil that will be the end of us all.

At the moment, my roommate is stressing over the workload he has; it’s legit though (he doesn’t Facebook stalk). The need to know everyone’s business, whether best friends or just good-looking strangers, has captivated college circles. This stems from the media, specifically the paparazzi.

As U.S. citizens, we stress over every simple occurrence in people’s lives we might never meet or even see in person. Immortals here to entertain, these gods have slowly but surely begun to destroy the college circles. Constantly feeling the need to know what’s going on in other people’s lives gives simpletons, such as ourselves, a false sense of security, trust and importance. It inflates our heads and more importantly distracts us from what is really going on.

While on Facebook last week, I received a notification that my 12-year-old brother was now a “fan of texting.” He doesn’t have a cell phone and I’m not sure if he has ever texted, let alone knows how to text. This obsession has caused more increased stress levels. It’s okay though because that gives us just one more thing to post as our status.

At 1:55 I receive a notification that someone likes my status; it only took 30 minutes to receive a response – way to go!

“(So-and-so) is dropping out of college after her last psych exam :/ see you at McDonald’s!” is what I’m now looking at on my home page. Possibly stop sharing and study perhaps?

It’s now 2:15. I have successfully wasted away an hour.

Leave a Reply

