Senior Exhibit Fits Its ‘Paradigm’

by Victoria Sullivan
Staff

When I first heard of the “Paradigm” art exhibit, what caught my eye was the title. With a quick click of the mouse, I found that the word “paradigm” means “an example serving as a model; (a) pattern,” according to Dictionary.com. Once I saw the art exhibit for myself, I understood why.

This collection of work, created by Transylvania seniors in the art department, is indeed a model of artistry. The variety of media, subjects, colors and techniques was astonishing. Should you visit the exhibit, you will find everything from sculpture to ceramics to video to woodcarving, all of them intriguing and beautiful. The exhibit, open until April 25, is one that I suggest each of you sees for yourself.

While at the exhibit, several specific works caught my eye. Andrew Weaver’s “XX and XY” photography display uses the beauty of the male and female anatomy to create unique perspectives of the human body. Most of the photos are in black and white, which allows the contrast of light and shadow to bring out the aspects of each model’s body. And the occasional color photo adds a touch of life to the otherwise static forms.

At times, you don’t know what exactly you are looking at, and that is perhaps the most fascinating aspect of all. You don’t need to know. What you do know is that your eye is drawn to the subtle curves and shadows of the models’ forms, and that is where the artistry truly lies.

Another piece that both chilled and delighted me was “Third Place” by Veronica Feth. At first, I was confused by the piece. What purpose could this limp, stuffed horse have here, just hanging from the wall? Upon further reflection, however, you can guess just how this horse might have met its fate.

That dark uncertainty was quite unsettling. I found myself avoiding the piece not because it was poorly constructed but because I was simply uncomfortable around it — though I get the feeling that this may have been the point.

I could wax poetic about “Paradigm” all day, but what really brought the whole exhibit together for me was the great passion I felt conveyed through this art. Whether it was fear, elation, constraint, despondency or anger, the artists’ work portrayed some kind of emotion.

This, I feel, is what makes this exhibit worth seeing. No matter what kind of art you may or may not enjoy, everyone has something to draw from these works. I urge each and every one of you to visit Morlan Gallery and support your peers, all of whom have worked so hard to deliver to you this “paradigm” of artistry.

Leave a Reply

