First-year SGA members sworn in

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The 10 newly elected first-year senators in the Student Government Association were officially inducted last night at the organization’s weekly meeting. A total of 22 first-year students ran for office, which is more than the yearly average, making this year’s elections more competitive.

“I think having a whole week of orientation was good. People got to know each other more, which I think made them feel more comfortable representing each other on campus,” said senior Josh Edge, SGA president.

The newly elected senators are eager to start in their new positions.

“I feel privileged that my classmates respected me enough to allow me to represent them, and I hope to convey their wishes and concerns to the best of my ability,” said first-year Tyler Baker.

Related stories: Edge hopes to ’empower others to act’, Restructuring SGA Constitution: 5 changes proposed.

Leave a Reply

