Homeade & Hearty: The Courtyard Deli

Hidden in the heart of downtown Lexington in this quaint deli that is serving up classic sandwiches and their remakes: the Courtyard Deli. A big shout-out to junior Anna Tussey for telling me about this place; otherwise I never would have found out about it. The Courtyard Deli, located right off of Cheapside Street, is a place that you have to visit at least once in your time here at Transylvania University.

Walking into this deli, you are greeted by the intoxicating aroma of griddled corned beef. I didn’t actually get the Rueben but I’ve heard from junior Alex Yaden that it is quite good. What I did get was the smoked salmon on focaccia. I have this minor obsession with smoked salmon that is quite possibly a bit unhealthy, but I digress.

What I loved about Courtyard Deli’s smoked salmon sandwich, what set it apart from others, was the fish itself and the cream cheese. The salmon was home-smoked, a delightful new twist on the traditional sandwich. It was not salty like some smoked salmon can be; it was delicate, melt-in-your-mouth and flavorful.

Another thing that the deli did differently was add wasabi to its cream cheese. At first the idea sounds weird — smoked salmon, capers, onions and wasabi cream cheese — but when the whole thing came together it meshed so well. The only complaint I would have about it is that the wasabi can be overpowering at times.

In addition to sandwiches, the Courtyard Deli also serves up salads, soups, quiches and terrific sides. It usually offers a soup of the day and a soup of the month. The soup of the day when I went was cream of broccoli, and it was hearty. I only had a bite but my friend was overwhelmed by its heartiness.

One of the restaurant’s perks is that it does offer a couple of vegetarian options with the menu.

This restaurant was a great find. I am in love with the fact that it makes its own corned beef and smoked salmon. Nowadays places like this are few and far between, and as soon as one is found I feel that everyone should know about it and go try out its stuff.

Leave a Reply

