Andrew Goff’s Rebuttal

Let me start by saying that running for SGA President from another continent is not the easiest thing to do, but I want to thank The Rambler for making themselves both convenient and accessible from abroad. In regards to my interview, I would like to clarify my stance on the opening of the weekly SGA Executive Committee (EC) meetings. While I do agree that transparency is something that this organization should always strive for, I do not believe that opening up EC meetings to the student body is the best option for attaining the level of openness and accountability that we all want for our SGA. If I were President, I would ensure that a detailed transcript and minutes were published after our EC meetings to keep the student body up-to-date with the happenings of SGA. I want to reiterate that I still stand by this position. For efficiency’s sake, I believe that keeping the amount of people present at EC meetings at the lowest number is best to ensure that the goals of the evening are accomplished. I simply wanted to clarify this position so as to not be viewed in a negative light, as I do indeed have the best intentions for the student body in mind.

Leave a Reply

