SGA Secretary Platforms

Blake Atkinson

“My name is Blake Atkinson, and I’m running for the position of secretary. I’m a rising senior, with significant experience on SGA. I’ve been fortunate enough to hold a position on the academic affairs committee and student affairs committee and have been elected to the curriculum planning committee. I’ve also played roles in organizing the student art contest and Beck Blackout.

I believe that my experience with multiple facets of SGA has prepared me for fulfilling the duties of SGA secretary. I am a worthy candidate to handle responsibilities such as taking attendance, sending emails and organizing documents because I have kept a consistent attendance record throughout my time as senator, and I have demonstrated my commitment to the organization by volunteering for tasks and putting forth substantial effort.

As SGA secretary, I would have valuable input to the decisions of the SGA executive council. For this position, I believe that one of my strongest attributes is my impartiality to traditional biases. Often when a member of the executive council is confronted with funding proposals from particular groups, he or she is inherently susceptible to bias. You may be confident that if I am elected, then decisions will be made in a thoughtful manner to best serve our campus. It is an honor to run and would be an even higher honor to be elected.

April Ballard

“I have been on SGA for two years and have truly grown as a leader through my experiences. I began as solely a member of the academic affairs committee and the public relations committee, where I assisted in the planning of the Transylvania research symposium and many other events.

However, this year I have stepped up and become a much larger contributor on campus and in the organization. I was put in the position of technology liaison, where I coordinated with various technology representatives on campus as a voice for the student body in reference to technology-related subjects. I think that this position has given me the skills and connections that would be helpful for me if I were given the opportunity to serve as SGA secretary. I would be able to use these resources and the input of other students in order to represent the student body rightfully so.

My organizational skills also make me a great fit for the secretary position. I have the ability to keep things in order and do jobs in a timely manner. If given the opportunity to serve as SGA secretary I would represent our student body in its best interest, perform the necessary duties of secretary and continue to develop Transylvania in terms of academics, as well as with student life.”

Leave a Reply

