SGA Treasurer Platforms

Wes Becker

I am running for treasurer of the Student Government Association because I believe SGA should be more available to the students on campus. It is important for students and organizations on Transylvania’s campus to know how to submit a funding request. The money SGA receives every year is for the use of the students, so all people and organizations needing funds should be able to easily send in requests. It would be my goal as Treasurer to make sure the fund request process is more available to students.

I am an accounting major and I served as treasurer for Delta Sigma Phi in 2011-2012, so I am experienced in collecting and recording funds. I know I can do a proficient job as SGA treasurer by making funding requests more available to the students and organizations that need them.

Ashley Carter

I have loved serving Transy’s student government this year as both a senator and the constitution chair. However, I’m also very excited for the opportunity to move into a more significant leadership role within student government, and I feel that treasurer would be an excellent position for me. As a current member of the executive council, I have prior experience with the way that SGA works to serve Transy students and am prepared for the time commitment that it takes.

As constitution chair, I am also very familiar with the procedures of student government and, more specifically, with how SGA funds student organizations and what types of requests we’re allowed to fund. Treasurer is a position that takes time, organization and responsibility, and I feel that I’m ready to commit to the job. All of my experiences at Transy have made me very excited to serve on student government, and I would love the chance to serve Transy as the SGA treasurer.

Jordan Perkins

For the past term I have served as the Student Government treasurer and would like to continue serving Transylvania University with the position. With such a late start, it was initially difficult to adjust to the new position while still keeping the budget in balance. Now that I have learned how the position is intended to work and the logistics behind it, I believe that I will be a valuable asset to the Student Government Association.

In addition, my ideas for improving the treasurer position will enhance Transylvania’s student body immensely. I plan to work with the administration to secure a credit card, or another way of making purchases, so that transactions for events such as Beck Blackout are completed promptly.

I also would like to develop a more efficient system for submitting and processing funding requests. There has been confusion this year about the funding request process, which is troubling due to the fact that it is one of the most important things that the Student Government Association offers to Transylvania’s student body. I plan on updating the form to prevent confusion, while keeping organizations informed as to what can and cannot be funded by the Student Government Association. I will personally address any other questions that the organizations might have regarding funding and finances. This will in turn reduce the time that organizations have to go without the money that the Student Government Association has approved.

Leave a Reply

