SGA Vice President Platforms

Kayarash Karimian

The Student Government Association has been one of the most meaningful organizations to which I have committed myself during my two years at Transy. My main incentive for having participated in SGA thus far is and will always be to express the opinions of students to improve the campus environment that we live in — both socially and academically.

As last term’s treasurer of SGA, I worked with many students to fund new organizations at Transy and helped them attend various national conferences. As the current academic affairs chair, I have been working to initiate Transylvania’s first intercollegiate research symposium (taking place Saturday) to allow students an opportunity to share their academic interests with the Transylvania community and other liberal arts colleges of Kentucky.

All in all, these experiences are what have encouraged me to run for the position of vice president. If I were to be elected to the position, I would seek to bring distinguished and innovative people to our campus — for example, through planning a TEDx event for Transy. I would also like to continue conversation with faculty and staff at Transy to discuss improving the overall student experience as we work towards becoming one of the leading liberal arts universities — specifically by expanding opportunities for the arts.

Lastly, as vice president I will continue to focus on student life topics, such as the new curfew policy that will be implemented next year, and communicate the interests and opinions of the student body with the administration. As Pioneers, we are all capable of carving our own paths, and with your support I hope to provide more platforms and opportunities for students to transcend their perceived limitations on Transylvania’s campus.

Cody Kirby

Hello fellow Transylvanians. I am Cody Kirby, a junior political science major, and I am pursuing the office of vice president of the Student Government Association. I have served as a senator for the past three years and am the current public relations chair. Serving on the executive council this year as the PR chair has given me the experience and qualifications that I feel have prepared me for a larger position such as vice president.

I am involved in many campus activities. I serve as my fraternity’s parliamentarian and vice president of Phi Alpha Delta (Transy’s pre-law fraternity), and I have participated in numerous Student Activities Board meetings. I actively helped in preparing for Beck Blackout and would love to help bring many more unifying activities like this on campus throughout the year.

This year, SGA has re-evaluated the curfew policy, and I believe that we should focus on other issues as well in the future. Specifically, I know there has been a lot of dissatisfaction with the energy policy and the air conditioning controversy. I would like to help be a voice between the student body and the administration when issues like this arise. If elected as vice president of SGA, I would do my best to serve in the interest of the student body. Elections are online this year, so the turnout is expected to be much larger. I encourage each and every one of you to take a few minutes to vote on election day, and in the process I would really appreciate your votes. Thank you for your time and remember Kirby for vice president of SGA when voting!

Leave a Reply

